How to Successfully Start Writing Stories

Ever dreamed of becoming a writer? I know many people have a secret desire to put pen to paper and craft a literature masterpiece. And yet many don’t. Perhaps you believe you don’t have the time or resources. Do you start and stop writing, never getting past the first few pages? I know that’s how I used to write: sporadic and blundering. So if you have grand plans for a debut, yet struggle with being overwhelmed at the prospect of crafting a whole novel… then read on for my getting started tips.

Starting any project is all about getting out of your comfort zone. If it ins’t scary, we’re not growing and evolving. So be brave and take that first step into the fear zone. Yes, trying anything new has challenges while we learn the ropes, but learning new skills can boosts our self-confidence. So keep at it!

There comes a point in life when you need to stop reading other people’s books and write your own.

~ Albert Einstein

To help me through this stage, I joined a creative writing class with a supportive tutor. The class gave me nurturing feedback and encouragement and initially became a hobby. There are virtual writing groups on Facebook, online learning sites, and a great writing community with fantastic writing resources to help you get started. All you need is a little initiative to find the right resource for you, and then a dedicated slot to write. Even if that’s only ten minutes a day, or a writing sprint once a week.

Notepad-coffee-flowers-writer

You fail only if you stop writing.

~ Ray Bradbury

Remember: Don’t put pressure on yourself. Write for fun. Write for yourself, as if no one is ever going to read your work. And allow your creativity to run free, scribbling inking upon a blank page. Get those ideas down and don’t look back, not yet anyway, editing comes later. When I teach my classes, I give my ideas, themes or a character and ask the blossoming writers to explore that small aspect. Don’t get caught up in pesky details as you explore a scene. It will not only slow you down, but potentially put you off.

Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.

~ Louis L’Amour
pexels-notebook-make-it-happen

Soon you’ll be in the learning zone. Full of enthusiasm as you develop new skills and deal with challenges. A great tip is to read as much as you write, if not more: In truth it’s the best way to learn. Before you know it you’ll be firmly in the growth zone; setting goals, conquering problems and living your dreams. Being a writer is not about how many novels you’ve written, its simply about stringing words together to form stories.

Have you dreamed about becoming a writer? If you’re already a writer, can you share a tip about how you got started? Or share a little bit about your writing journey to help inspire others.

Fantasy writer Lorraine Ambers blog banner

Don’t forget to leave a comment and share your thoughts. You know I love hearing from you.

Thanks for stopping by, until next time, Much Love.

Pinterest    Instagram    Twitter    Facebook

© Author Lorraine Ambers and http://www.lorraineambers.com, 2021.

18 thoughts on “How to Successfully Start Writing Stories

  1. Lauren Savoie

    These tips are great reminders even for someone who is an experienced writer. I published a book right around the time that covid hit us and I sort of stopped writing for a long time. Then I found this whole world of blogging and it has been a lifesaver and given me a lot of practice. I think you’re right that you have to just keep going and spill out your ideas without being too critical of yourself at first blush.

    Like

      1. Very cathartic. 🙂 Haha. It’s not the worst reason to start. I was recovering from a dislocated knee at the time. I was going crazy with nothing to do, including reading. I ran out of new books pretty quickly. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great article. I love reading novels and am trying to write some too, my problem is I got the stories in my head, I can play the role of all my characters but I just can’t sit and finished the story. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great Article as always. My frustration is I love to write but yearn so much one day to publish and I feel time just passes me by. I wrote a novel that I’ve been editing now for like two years. I also blog but it’s hard because I feel a sense of sadness when I see other writers succeed in the publishing world. I know we should all support each other as writers and wish success but it’s hard when that success may never come for me. This leads me to think I’m no good and give up but I refuse to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely understand your frustration that turns to doubt. I’ve been in the query trenches for five years now, so I totally get it.
      When I feel like this I ask myself this: even if I’m never published, will I continue to write. Like you, the answer will always be yes.
      Hang in there!! I believe in you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you the awesome encouragement. Over the years of reading your incredible advise it gives me hope. Honestly my book is not perfected yet but getting there. As you know it’s a work in process and progress. I continue to not give up on my book and blogs. Never give up. I also podcast as a way to give me another creative outlet. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.